A. G. Riddle on science, heroism, and humanity’s future

We talk with best-selling sci-fi thriller author A. G. Riddle about putting humanity in peril in fiction and the parallels he sees to the real challenges we face today.

Read more

The best mysteries and thrillers of May

Here's a look at some of our favorite mysteries and thrillers of May.

Read more

The best biographies and memoirs of May

Wild and true stories of extreme childhoods, discovering your mother is not quite what she seemed, learning to cook French food, and more page-turning memoirs await this month.

Read more

Amazon's best books of May: This week's releases

A poignant novel in the vein of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime; Emma Straub offers a compassionate portrait of a messy family; Bill Buford continues his culinary education in France, and more. 

Read more

Novels that celebrate kindness

Acts of kindness and their reverberating effects have helped mitigate the sting of these uncertain times. Here are a handful of novels inhabited by characters who practice this powerful virtue. 

Read more

Talking to Janelle Brown about her novel "Pretty Things"

We caught up with the best-selling author to talk about the twists and turns in her new psychological thriller. We also asked her about plans to bring the book to the screen. 

Read more

Talking to Lauren Wolk, author of "Echo Mountain"

A short reflection on classic childhood stories and the natural world, from award-winning author Lauren Wolk.

Read more

The best nonfiction of April

These books might make your life a little better.

Read more

Amazon's best books of April: This week's releases

A delightfully irreverent memoir; a page-turning psychological thriller; and another visit to the OK Corral...

Read more

Grady Hendrix on book clubs and slaying vampires

Grady Hendrix, author of one of our best books of April, talks about the book, "Southern Living," potpourri, Beanie babies, and what he's reading right now.

Read more

Best science fiction and fantasy of April

These six new SF and fantasy novels will make you want to stay home.

Read more

N. K. Jemisin on New York City, tentacles, and magic

Multi-award-winning author N. K. Jemisin talks about how New York City is the perfect place to set a fantastical novel, even as the Empire State Building is now lit up "like the Eye of Sauron."

Read more

Amazon's best books of April

A novel that will haunt you long after the last page is turned; historical fiction based on a real-life socialite-turned-spy, and a white-knuckle thriller you won't want to put down...

Read more

The best history books of April

Here are books to transport you to another time.

Read more

The best mysteries and thrillers of April

Vampires, grifters, a WWII assassin, and a helping of Texas justice: editors have picked a particularly eclectic selection of mysteries in April.

Read more
|

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube