Our picks from this month's Amazon First Reads selections

Al Woodworth on November 17, 2020
Share

Our picks from this month's Amazon First Reads selections

Every month, Amazon First Reads offers a collection of titles available a month early to readers. You can select one new pre-release Kindle book each month for $1.99 or one free if you’re a Prime member.

This month's selections include a children's book that conjures a winter wonderland and novels that have drawn comparisons to Downton Abbey, Where the Crawdads Sing, Fatal Attraction, and Mean Girls.

Here are some of our favorites, but be sure to check out the complete Amazon First Reads list.


Every Last Secret by A.R. Torre

Talk about a devious and delicious drama-filled plot! A new woman moves to town and decides that her neighbor’s life—a successful husband and overflowing bank account—is exactly what she wants and she’ll stop at nothing to get it. In the words of A.R. Torre’s editor, Every Last Secret is “Mean Girls meets Fatal Attraction…[and] two Silicon Valley wives who aren’t above seduction, lying, and blackmail to win the perfect life.”


Memories in the Drift by Melissa Payne

Claire Hines lost her unborn child and her short-term memory in a horrific accident a decade ago. But if she can’t remember her present, and is haunted by memories of her past, will she be able to move on? A haunting and ultimately hopeful story about staying in the moment—perfect for book clubs—just read it with a box of tissues nearby.


Under a Gilded Moon by Joy Jordan-Lake

For fans of Downton Abbey and Where the Crawdads Sing. Joy Jordan-Lake’s enthralling historical novel of secrets and social class is set 1800s just as the famed and sprawling Biltmore estate is being completed. The bestselling novelist, Fiona Davis raves: “Pitting rugged locals against Gilded Age interlopers and threaded throughout with a meticulously researched, well-crafted mystery, this is historical fiction at its best.”


The Snow Dancer by Addie Boswell, illustrated by Mercè López

A whimsical and lyrical picture book about a young dancer who wakes to a blanket of snow. Inspired by the silence and the quiet, she dances through the park until she meets a group of kids having a snowball fight. As the editor of the book writes, “I love how this book pulses with the infectious energy of kids and highlights the special way that children embrace the world around them.” (Ages 3-7).


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube