Amazon First Reads November

Al Woodworth on November 08, 2019
Share

It’s that time of the month – time for Prime members to select their free Kindle book from Amazon First Reads! And the Amazon Book Review is here to help you pick from the eight selections. Feeling outdoorsy? Read about America's National Parks and the history of their creation in That Wild Country. Are you an Agatha Christie fan? Loreth Anne White's In the Dark takes her classic And Then There Were None a step further. Want to laugh about a loveable mother trying to do it all but falling short? Holly Banks Full of Angst is for you. Or maybe you need a new picture book for story time? Check out Lindsay Ward’s This Book is Gray, which is way more colorful that you might expect. And so much more.

So pick out your book for this month and come back in November to discover the next crop of Amazon First Reads.


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

That Wild Country: An Epic Journey through the Past, Present, and Future of America's Public Lands by Mark Kenyon

Mark Kenyon, a nature writer and avid outdoors man, takes readers on a hiking, fishing, and camping adventure through our National Parks — 640 million acres of land that Americans collectively co-own. Yes, you and me own this land – and we have to protect it, as Kenyon explains in his debut That Wild Country. From Yellowstone to Arches, Kenyon travels throughout America’s protected parks delving into their history and beauty. Kenyon’s editor, Laura van der Veer shared that “by the time I turned the last page on Mark’s journey…I’d developed a whole new appreciation of public land, my land, and the staggering efforts that have preserved these slices of pristine America for our future generations.”


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

In the Dark by Loreth Anne White

Talk about a luxury vacation gone wrong! In a secluded mountain lodge eight guests are expecting a restful, lavish break from their everyday lives – but when a storm barrels down on them and cuts off their access to the outside world, they begin to realize their vacation is not quite as it seems. They each have something to hide…and maybe fear. Allison Dasho, Loreth Anne White’s editor notes that crime fiction readers will see parallels to Agatha Christie’s classic And Then There Were None and that “there is so much to love about Loreth Anne White’s chilling, atmospheric, and utterly compelling novel.”


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

If You Tell: A True Story of Murder, Family Secrets, and the Unbreakable Bond of Sisterhood by Gregg Olsen

This is the shocking and disturbing story of three sisters who survived their abusive and violent childhood in a small logging town in the Pacific Northwest. Their mother made their lives a living nightmare - subjecting the girls to torture, terror, culminating in the violence of multiple murders. And yet, these resilient made it through because of their bonds with one another. As the editor of the book, Liz Pearson wrote, “New York Times bestselling author Gregg Olsen is a master of both true crime and domestic suspense, and with If You Tell he has brilliantly combined his talents…[the book] reads like a fast-paced thriller. But unfortunately, it is all true. Every single excruciating detail.”

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book


Print Book
Kindle Book

Nine Elms by Robert Bryndza

Robert Bryndza, the international bestselling author of The Girl in the Ice (with more than 3 million readers and counting) has returned with a dark new thriller about a disgraced female detective trying to make her comeback. As Lauren Edwards, Bryndza’s editor, shared “it’s thrilling to introduce a new series by an author of Robert Bryndza’s caliber. He has created a wholly original heroine in Kate Marshall. Damaged, brilliant, and impulsive, she draws readers in with her gutsy instincts…and her twisted road to redemption.”


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Home Truths by Tina Seskis

A twisty novel that follows two couples over the course of decades – and the discovery of a secret that will change their lives forever. According to Laura Deacon, Seskis’ editor, “Tina Seskis has been dubbed “the queen of the twist,” and it is not hard to see why. Her writing is suspenseful, twist-laden, fast-paced, and filled with characters who feel like people you know. For me this is what makes her writing so compelling: they could be your neighbor, your best friend, or even you…”


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Holly Banks Full of Angst by Julie Valerie

Holly Banks is the new mom on the block – and it’s a prim block, in the village of Primm – and she’s desperate to be perfect, like her Pinterest-worthy neighbors. But, unfortunately, that’s not quite in the cards for Holly – who is perfectly flawed, relatable, and always finding herself in hilarious and often embarrassing situations, especially when a local mystery consumes the neighborhood. Alicia Clancy, Valerie’s editor says this novel is perfect for fans of Maria Semple; “chock-full of laugh-out-loud moments and a cast of quirky characters you’ll fall in love with, Holly Banks Full of Angst is certain to charm even the grumpiest of readers.”

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book


Print Book
Kindle Book

This Book is Gray by Lindsay Ward

Lindsay Ward’s picture books are always filled with colorful characters, even when they are gray. In her latest picture book, Gray is feeling left out – so he decides to create his own book, where gray is everywhere. As Gray fills the pages, other primary and secondary colors want to join in, but they aren’t so complementary. A thoughtful book that introduces the concept of colors and being true to yourself. Kelsea Skea, Ward’s longtime editor, shares that This Book is Gray“is full of feeling and punchy, punny dialogue.”


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Night Falls by Roland Merullo

In Merullo's World War II novel, Luca Benedetto has joined the fight against the Nazi’s to free his country and protect the woman he adores. But as the occupation intensifies, Luca and his family must decide how much they’re willing to sacrifice for the people and country they love. “Both epic and intimate,” says Merullo’s editor Chris Werner, “a page-turning, propulsive read.”


You might also like:

Sign up for the Amazon Book Review: Best books of the month * author interviews * the reading life * and more


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube