Highly anticipated romances of summer

Adrian Liang on June 02, 2021
Share

woman reading book in hammock

Sizzling or sweet, these new romances releasing between June 1 and August 31 have racked up impressive preorders or are high on the Amazon Books Editors’ must-read lists.

Freed by E L James

With Grey, James brought Fifty Shades of Grey readers back to the romance they thought they were familiar with but showed it from Christian Grey’s point of view—and delivered additional insights into the wealthy but emotionally lost millionaire. With Freed, James concludes the trilogy told by Christian, delivering a finale that readers can’t wait to get their hands on—again. (June 1)

^^ASIN##B08Y3T89XY^^HEADLINE##“The love story that has enthralled millions of readers.”^^SUMMARY##Can Christian overcome the nightmares of his childhood and the torments of his youth, and save himself?^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston

The author of 2019’s Red, White & Royal Blue sets her newest romance far from royal estates—on the Q train in Brooklyn, in fact. August moves to New York to finish school and escape her mom, and she doesn’t have expectations beyond getting her degree and some sanity. But soon she’s intrigued by Jane, an open, electrifying young woman whom August only sees on the Q train. McQuiston’s newest leans into friendship, found families, and unexpected love, offering one of the best heartwarmers of summer. (June 1)

^^ASIN##B08FZB4B6F^^HEADLINE##“A dazzling romance, filled with plenty of humor and heart.”^^SUMMARY##A big-hearted romance where the impossible becomes possible as August does everything in her power to save the girl lost in time.^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

Incense and Sensibility by Sonali Dev

Dev gives another beloved Jane Austen novel a smart, modern spin as a political candidate and a stress management coach pull together to keep Yash on the campaign trail despite his new panic attacks. But Yash is a challenge India has never faced before, even as their growing connection could unlock a way forward for both of them. (July 6)

^^ASIN##B08KQB843S^^HEADLINE##“Powerful and loving.”^^SUMMARY##Desperate to keep Yash’s condition from leaking to the media, his family turns to the one person they trust—his sister’s best friend, India Dashwood, California’s foremost stress management coach.^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

While We Were Dating by Jasmine Guillory

Rising Hollywood star Anna Gardiner is between big movie projects when she meets Ben Stephens, and their casual flirtation unexpectedly turns into something more. Career choices and others’ expectations keep Anna and Ben off-kilter until they decide to write their own script for how they want their lives to go. The author of the best-selling Wedding Date series can be depended upon for laugh-out-loud moments matched to deep emotional connection—and this star-studded story is perfect for reading on summer evenings. (July 13)

^^ASIN##B08L5WF4YM^^HEADLINE##“A sizzling romantic comedy.”^^SUMMARY##Will Ben be content to play the background role in Anna’s life and leave when the cameras stop rolling? Or could he be the leading man she needs to craft their own Hollywood ending?^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

Trusting Molly by Susan Stoker

Stoker returns to her Silverstone series about former military operatives trying to right wrongs—and who unexpectedly find love in the process. In Trusting Molly, Smoke and Molly meet when Smoke rescues her and the schoolgirls in her care from a kidnapping in Nigeria. But danger waits for Molly at home, too, and Smoke finds himself drawn back to her as they try to uncover the threat to their lives and newfound love. (July 13)

^^ASIN##B08MDYRB8K^^HEADLINE##“A heart-pounding tale.”^^SUMMARY##As Molly and Smoke grow closer, a different threat emerges…one that will put their relationship to the test and their lives in grave danger.^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

Totally Folked by Penny Reid

Reid launches a new small-town romantic comedy series, giving longtime fans of her Winston Brothers books much to cheer about. A Tennessee sheriff collides with a movie star seeking escape from the demands of stardom, sparking questions in both of them about what they believe to be essential to their happiness. Reid always provokes both giggles and aha-moments in her romances, offering unforgettable reads. (July 20)

^^ASIN##B08SCMBR5B^^HEADLINE##“Raquel and Jackson must decide which is more important: following their rules? Or, at long last, finding something real.”^^SUMMARY##One unforgettable night leads to an unlikely shared connection, and unlikely connections never go unnoticed by the good folks in Green Valley, Tennessee. . .^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

The Heart Principle by Helen Hoang

Quan Diep and Anna Sun have nothing in common. He rides a motorcycle; she plays the violin. But when a one-night stand becomes a string of nights, both need to figure out if the person who seems like the worst match for them might actually be the missing piece they’ve always been looking for. Readers who loved The Kiss Quotient and The Bride Test shouldn’t miss Hoang’s third book. (August 31)

^^ASIN##B07Y7NV8PC^^HEADLINE##“A heartfelt romance novel.”^^SUMMARY##A woman struggling with burnout learns to embrace the unexpected—and the man she enlists to help her.^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

Breaking Badger by Shelly Laurenston

Laurenston takes shape-shifting romances to the next level of excitement (read: bonkers drama) with her Honey Badger Chronicles, and readers can’t get enough. In the fourth addition to her series, a Siberian tiger shifter knows a houseful of honey badgers is a bad idea—and indeed he’s right. But when he needs help to avenge a death in the family, honey badger shifter Mads has his back. And sometimes his front, too. (August 31)

^^ASIN##B08PQ32GW2^^HEADLINE##“Outstandingly witty, snarky.”^^SUMMARY##Mads knows her teammates aren’t about to forgive the cats that were so rude to them, but moody Finn isn’t so bad. And he’s cute!^^AWARD##Editors’ pick^^RATING##^^RANK##^^BEST##^^WORST##^^

 *

Need more recommendations? See the Amazon Books editors’ picks in fiction, mystery, memoirs, history, science fiction, romance, cookbooks, and many other categories.

Readers searching for their next favorite read can check the Amazon Book Review page featuring best books of the month, author interviews, the reading life, and more.

The Amazon Books editors read independently and widely with one goal in mind: helping readers find their next favorite book.


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube