Our picks from this month's Amazon First Reads selections

Al Woodworth on August 13, 2020
Share

Our picks from this month's Amazon First Read selections

Every month, Amazon First Reads offers a collection of titles available a month early to readers. You can select one new pre-release Kindle book each month for $1.99 or one free if you’re a Prime member.

August's offerings include an action packed thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and Blake Crouch; a hard-witting YA novel about resilience; "the perfect summer read" (think: secrets and greenhouses); a children's book for bedtime; and more. These are a few of our favorites of the month, but be sure to check out Amazon First Reads for the complete selection.


Find Layla by Meg Elison

Layla Bailey is at the top of her class, but her home life is far from perfect. When she decides to use her house for a science project, the video of her home goes viral—think black mold growing in the walls, a broken fridge, mushrooms growing from dresser drawers—and then, Child Protective Services comes calling. Layla's powerful voice is full of courage and resilience and you'll root for her throughout this hard-hitting young adult novel.


Honeysuckle Season by Mary Ellen Taylor

Secrets, greenhouses, forgotten letters, oh my! Described as a "sweeping, cinematic, generational saga" by editor Alison Dasho, Honeysuckle Season is a lush story of friendship, family, and the secrets that bind four generations of women together. It's so good that Dasho extends the invitation "to find a comfortable seat—perhaps in a sunbeam, surrounded by fragrant blossoms and gently swaying trees—and treat yourself to a perfect summer read."


Interference by Brad Parks

From international best-selling author Brad Parks comes an emotional, heart-pounding thriller that explores the scientific unknown—and one woman’s efforts to save her husband from its consequences. Fans of Michael Crichton and Blake Crouch will relish this novel, which is part action thriller, part scientific exploration, and part love story.


Don't Ever Forget by Matthew Farrell

How about this for an opening: a woman drives down the road in a stolen car, with a body in the trunk. Who is she? Is she the killer? Where did she get the car? With snappy dialogue and mind-bending twists, Don't Ever Forget reveals a world of crime and murder and the story of the cop that's on the killers' trail, Susan Adler. A thrilling ride that's just the beginning of this two-part series.


Rosie the Dragon and Charlie Say Good Night by Lauren H. Kerstein, illustrated by Nate Wragg

The age-old struggle: bedtime. Thankfully, Lauren H. Kerstein is here to save the day and help put your little one to sleep, while having a bit of fun. As Kerstein's editor, Marilyn Brigham, shared "I hope you and your little dragon will enjoy this hilarious—and all-too-familiar—take on getting ready for bed."


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube