Audio books for everyone

Seira Wilson on April 07, 2020
Share

Audio books have been a great source of comfort to me in recent weeks. When I need new distraction I can lay on the couch, put on my headphones, and let someone tell me a story.  If you've never listened to an audio book, now is an excellent time to give it a try, share one with the kids, or listen to a book as a family. Think of the latter as a family book club, only no one talks until you've finished whatever segment you're listening to. 

Audible is offering a large selection of children's audio books for free. The titles are organized by age group and include books for little listeners (Dr. Seuss and more), elementary school listens (including a fun Minecraft novel and Alice in Wonderland) and audio books for tweens and teens.  There's also a selection of literary classics, so if you've been thinking: one of these days I'll read Moby Dick or Pride and Prejudice, it's a great time to listen to something that's been sitting on your unread classics bucket list.

Below are some other audios I recommend - a couple each for adults, kids, and books that work well for family time.

ADULT:

BoyFromTheWoods_200.jpg

  • The Boy from the Woods by Harlan Coben - the latest from bestselling thriller writer Harlan Coben. A private investigator with a mysterious past is tasked with finding a missing girl. Action and psychological twists abound.  Mystery/Thriller
  • Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family by Robert Kolker - an editors' pick for the best books of April and now an Oprah Book Club pick. An empathetic and incredibly compelling story of schizophrenia through the lens of a single family of twelve children, six of them schizophrenic. Nonfiction
  • KIDS:

    CitySpies200.jpgCity Spies by James Ponti - the first book in a new series perfect for fans of Stuart Gibbs' Spy School.  Five kids from across the globe are brought together to become real-life spies.  A fun blend of mystery, action, danger, and friendship.  Ages 8-12

    • The Ralph S. Mouse Audio Collection by Beverly Cleary - this audio includes Cleary's children's book classics Mouse and the Motorcycle, Ralph S. Mouse, and Runaway Ralph, narrated by actor B.D. Wong. Ages 7-12

    • Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky: Tristan Strong, Book 1 by Kwame Mbalia - published by Rick Riordan this fantasy that brings together West African gods and African American folk heroes is perfect for fantasy readers looking for something new.  The first in a new series, and winner of a 2020 Coretta Scott King Honor Award. Ages 8-12

    AUDIO FOR THE FAMILY:

    HarryPotterBk1_200.jpg

    • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Book 1 by J.K. Rowling - even if you've all read this series before, I highly recommend the audio version.  Narrated by actor Jim Dale, it's simply a delightful listening experience for the whole family.
    • Wonder by R. J. Palacio - a story everyone should read, or in this case listen to.  A book that inspired a movement of kindness, this story will make your heart grow no matter your age. A book you'll want to talk about together.
    • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee - still one of my favorite audio books of all time. Narrated by Sissy Spacek. Timeless and always worth revisiting for those who've already read Lee's classic. 


    Lists + Reviews

    Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

    Authors

    Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

    News + Features

    News Features Awards Podcast

    Editors

    Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

    Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube