What to read after "Midnight Sun"

Seira Wilson on September 23, 2020
Share

[type headline here]

You waited for over a decade for it, but now that you've finished the epic read that is Stephenie Meyer's Midnight Sun, what book are you going to turn to next?

Well, we've got a few suggestions.... Here are a handful of books (some of them the first in a new series) about supernatural beings, vampire romance, and star-crossed love, plus a story that is not your typical vampire novel but nonetheless centers around an undead gentleman with an unquenchable thirst.



Crave by Tracy Wolff

If ever there is a book to read after Midnight Sun, it is Tracy Wolff's Crave. After the death of her parents, 17-year-old Grace is sent to live with her uncle at Katmere Academy, the boarding school where he is the headmaster. The school looks like a Gothic castle dropped into the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, and if that isn't enough of a shock, Grace soon meets the magnetic but cold Jaxon Vega, to whom she feels an immediate attraction. Did I mention that he's a vampire? Grace finds herself in mortal danger from nearly the moment she arrives, and vampires, werewolves, and electrifying romance fill the pages. Rich description and atmosphere for days. Put this one on the top of the pile then get ready for the sequel, Crush (September 29).


Lobizona by Romina Garber

This novel may be of particular interest for Team Jacob fans, but anyone who enjoys a well-crafted tale of a supernatural being who is supposed to keep themselves apart from human connection will appreciate Lobizona. Garber brings themes of immigration and Argentinian folklore to the story of a young woman who is sequestered from the outside world for her own protection, until that protection is gone. Only then does she learn the truth of who - and what - she is. This one kept me on the edge of my seat, glued to every page.


The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

Who can resist a vampire romance in a gorgeous 19th-century New Orleans setting? The first book in a new series, The Beautiful takes readers back in time, and into the dark but seductive occult underworld of La Cour des Lions. Seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau is our entry into this world, a young woman escaping her past who finds sanctuary in the city with the sisters of the Ursuline convent.  After a series of murders, including that of a fellow convent member, Celine begins to suspect the man she is irresistibly drawn to, Sébastien Saint Germain: an aristocrat, the leader of La Cour des Lions, and, it turns out, an immortal. The second book in the series, The Damned, is out now, so you won't have to wait to see what happens next.


Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Book one of a trilogy, Serpent & Dove is a high-stakes tale of romance between two people who should be mortal enemies: Louise le Blanc, a thief and a witch, and Reid Diggory, a man who has dedicated his life to ridding the world of witches. An unlikely pair, indeed. The more they try to resist their attraction, the hotter it burns. Louise (Lou) is a strong female character who must make an incredibly hard choice around love. This is a book that will appeal to fans of world-building fantasy and readers of Midnight Sun who empathized with the fraught nature of Edward's love for Bella, one that goes against the very nature of his being. Book two, Blood & Honey, just released, to the relief of many fans who've been waiting for the next chapter in this saga.


The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

Billed by the publisher as "Steel Magnolias meets Dracula," The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires is a book for readers who are looking for a new twist on the vampire story. In this case, one that substitutes heavy romance with humor.  Patricia's life in Charleston is busy but boring. The bright spot is her book club, the members of which prefer true crime over classics. But things get very interesting when James Harris moves in next door. He's a man with unusual traits and quirks, who quickly insinuates himself into Patricia's life. There's a great reveal, and readers will quickly recognize James for what he is. Fun and funny with a dark, supernatural undercurrent, this '90s-era horror story puts a new face on vampires.


Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer

If you haven't started this yet but are a fan of Twilight, Meyer transports us back to that pivotal story from the very first pages of Midnight Sun. At long last we get to see Edward and Bella's story from Edward's perspective. We learn where he goes and what he does in the unseen moments of Twilight's narrative, and most powerful of all, readers see, through his thoughts and actions, the intensity of Edward's desire for Bella and how it clashes with his nearly overwhelming need to protect her, even from himself. There are two sides to every story and we've long had Bella's - now, thanks to Midnight Sun, we can see the whole picture.


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube