Best Books of the Month: Literature and Fiction

Erin Kodicek on January 30, 2018
Share

botm.pngOur selections for the best literature and fiction of January are bittersweet, with a posthumous release from the late, great Denis Johnson, a novel that examines the after-effects of a school shooting, and one about a psychic renown for being able to foretell the day anyone will die (ok, I swear, there is some sweet in here, too).

See a few of them below, and browse all of our fiction picks, as well as the rest of the Best Books of the Month.

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

Green by Sam Graham-Felsen

David Greenfeld, a white student at a predominately black school, finds an unlikely friend in Marlon Wellings, but race and privilege test their tender bond in this witty and heartfelt coming-of-age story.

Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce

Fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Nick Hornby's High Fidelity will rejoice with the release of Rachel Joyce's latest. It's an offbeat love story about a shop owner whose lonely existence is forever changed when a woman faints in front of his store.


Shop on Amazon
Print Book | Kindle Book

This Could Hurt by Jillian Medoff

The delicate balance of an HR firm is upended when its chief suffers a personal setback. Jillian Medoff's This Could Hurt injects a surprising amount of heart into a novel about corporate America.


Subscribe to the Amazon Book Review, featuring picks for the best books of the month, author interviews, reading recommendations, and more from the Amazon Books editors.


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube