Announcing the Winners of the 2018 Edgar® Awards

Chris Schluep on April 27, 2018

The 2018 Edgar® Awards were announced on April 26, 2018 at the 72nd Gala Banquet held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York. Presented by the Mystery Writers of America, the Edgar Allan Poe Awards honor the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television published or produced in 2017.

Below is a selection of book-related categories. The winner is listed in bold (the covers shown were my best guesses at which books would win).

And here's an interesting factoid: Noah Hawley, who wrote Before the Fall, which won the 2017 Edgar® for Best Novel, won this year for Best TV Episode Teleplay ("Somebody to Love" — Fargo, Teleplay by Noah Hawley - FX Networks/MGM).

Best First Novel


Best Novel


Best Fact Crime


Best Critical/Biographical


Congratulations to the nominees and winner in all categories. Again, you can see the full list here.

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast


Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube