5 memoirs and biographies we can't wait to read this Spring

Al Woodworth on January 30, 2020
Share

Earlier this week we shared some of the big celebrity memoirs coming out this spring and today we are showcasing 5 more memoirs and biographies we are excited to read. From Erik Larson’s deep dive into Winston Churchill and James Patterson’s revealing portrait of the Kennedy family and their dramas, to Lady Glenconner’s memoir of her friendship with the Queen and Princess of England – these intimate biographies and memoirs are sure to fascinate. Some are juicy (Lady in Waiting, The House of Kennedy), others inspiring (Untamed), and others just plain fierce, and food filled (Eat a Peach). So here's a sneak peak of some of the memoirs and bios publishing in the next few months: 


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz by Erik Larson

The great historian Erik Larson is resurrecting Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz in his new book, The Splendid and the Vile. Like the best narrative nonfiction, this is a front row seat to Winston Churchill—the man, the husband, the father, the leader and all of his eccentricities—and those closest to him during his first year as Prime Minister, when the Germans were closing in on London. Drawing on memoirs, diaries, letters, and recently declassified material, The Splendid and the Vile is a portrait of a leader, family, and country under siege.

(February 25, 2020)


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Untamed by Glennon Doyle

Glennon Doyle is the beloved activist, speaker, and bestselling author of Love Warrior and Carry On, Warrior. And Untamed is her most personal story yet. In this tender, soulful, funny and revealing book, Doyle shares the highs and lows of her life – of feeling tethered and bound by expectation, falling in love across a crowded room, divorcing her husband, and marrying her wife and realizing that the most important voice to listen to is your own. Untamed is about trusting yourself, being brave and living joyfully.

(March 10, 2020)


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Lady in Waiting: My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown by Anne Glenconner

For fans of The Crown, Lady in Waiting is a powerful, personal memoir of Royalty. As Queen Elizabeth’s Maid of Honor at her Coronation and Princess Margaret’s Lady in Waiting, Lady Glenconner travelled the world with the Royals – from vacations in Mustique with Mick Jagger and David Bowie, to visiting the US and dining with Presidents, and bearing first hand witness to the eight-year affair between her best friend, Princess Margaret and Roddy Llewellyn. Full of juicy gossip, Lady Glenconner also shares with candor, wit and warmth her own family drama, tragedy and resilience.

(March 24, 2020)


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

The House of Kennedy by James Patterson and Cynthia Fagen

The Kennedy name is synonymous with American royalty. The family commitment to public service is legendary and enduring. Nevertheless, their charisma has also been marked by tragedy and disgrace: assassinations, murder, plane crashes, fatal accidents, drugs, and sex scandals. The House of Kennedy is a revealing look at America’s most storied family, as told by one of America’s most beloved storytellers, James Patterson.

(April 13, 2020)


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Eat a Peach: A Memoir by David Chang

David Chang, who built the Momofuku Empire, and brought us the Netflix food show Ugly Delicious, gets uncomfortably real in his debut memoir. Observant, vulnerable, funny and fierce, Chang shares his extreme fear of failure, how he and his team barely made it through the first year of their now famous noodle shop, Momofuku, and his own battles with mental health. Along the way, he shares what guides him and how food can be used as a weapon against complacency and racism.

(May 19, 2020)


You might also like:

Sign up for the Amazon Book Review: Best books of the month * author interviews * the reading life * and more


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube