Monks and tigers and murders, oh my!

Jon Foro on July 11, 2019
Share

Prime-collage.jpg

What if you had over a thousand books, magazines, and comics at your fingertips, ready to read — for free! — at a moment’s notice? If you’re a Prime member, you already do. With Prime Reading, you can build a digital library of up to 10 eligible titles at a time, and you can always get another by returning one that you currently have.

While the options might feel delightfully endless, these nine books currently in Prime Reading are among the best in their categories. From an award-winning novel about a boy and a tiger in a boat to the story of a woman who discovers a second chance at love after inheriting a Brooklyn brownstone, these reads will give your wrist a workout from flipping pages so quickly.

Prime Reading titles rotate frequently, so check back often for the latest selection. The following titles will be available in Prime Reading through July 31, 2019.


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Bone Music (The Burning Girl) by Christopher Rice

The first book in Christopher Rice’s Burning Girl series opens with a nightmare premise: Charlotte Rowe was raised by a serial killer couple in their own twisted images for the first seven years of her life. After she reunites with her true family and grows up, Charlotte is swept up in a new nightmare — she now possesses a frightening new power after being dosed with an experimental drug, and shadowy forces seek to control it. Fans of Stephen King and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will love this best-selling blend of thriller and science fiction.


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Aftershocks (The Palladium Wars) by Marko Kloos

For military sci-fi enthusiasts, Marko Kloos’ Aftershocks delivers the goods. The first book of The Palladium Wars series introduces readers to Gaia, a distant solar system struggling to recover from a devastating interplanetary war, but teeters again at the abyss as insurrection threatens to plunge its six planets into chaos. Count George R.R. Martin as a fan: “I gulped down the first book in a day, and I am already eager for the next one.”


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

The Hallows by Victor Methos

In 2014, Methos parlayed his experience as a trial lawyer into The Neon Lawyer. Now readers have the chance to snatch up Methos’ just-released The Hallows. Tatum Graham is a successful, if ruthless, defense attorney in Miami. When a client whom he helped acquit kills again, Graham decamps to his Utah home in search of a quieter life. But when he gets wrapped up in the case of a murdered teenage girl — one that bears a strong likeness to his regrettable last case — he finds that peace, let alone redemption, may be out of reach.


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco

Eco’s celebrated first novel has ensnared readers for more than 35 years with its mystery set in medieval Italy. It’s 1327, and the monks have been accused of heresy. Brother William has been assigned the investigation, but it’s quickly overshadowed by seven strange, unexplainable deaths. A whodunit wrapped up in history, theology, and philosophy lessons, The Name of the Rose is a one-of-a-kind book, as twisty as the labyrinth at the center of the abbey, where all its secrets lie.


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Takeoff (Seth Walker) by Joseph Reid

In Joseph Reid’s fast-paced first novel, air marshal-turned-investigator Seth Walker embarks on his own debut case: escorting teenaged pop diva Max Magic to Los Angeles and into the protective custody of the FBI. On arrival at LAX, a volley of gunfire sets them on a flight pattern to Magic’s Austin home, where even greater danger awaits — along with the star’s dark past. Fans of Lee Child and John Sandford will be on board for this high-flying thriller.


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Defending Allye (Mountain Mercenaries) by Susan Stoker

Gray Rogers is a former Navy SEAL who now rights wrongs with the Mountain Mercenaries, a group of six ex-soldiers who aren’t afraid to operate outside the confines of the law. When Gray’s latest rescue, Allye Martin, follows him home, they strike up a steamy romance, but both soon become embroiled in Allye’s troubled past — a world of human trafficking that she is determined to destroy.


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

For those seeking magic, Yann Martel’s beloved, award-winning Life of Pi may do the trick. Pi Patel is a 16-year-old boy on his way to North America with his family — along with a cargo of zoo animals — when their ship sinks. Pi finds himself aboard a lifeboat for 227 days with Richard Parker, a 450-pound tiger who disappears without a trace as soon as they make land. Unsurprisingly, Pi’s fantastic tale is met with skepticism, and he tells a far more believable story to the authorities. But which one is closer to the truth?


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Private Lies: A Jane Avery Mystery (Jane Avery Mysteries) by Cynthia St. Aubin

Jane Avery is an accomplished liar who learned it from the best: her own mother, a shifty Denver private investigator. When Jane’s mom goes missing, the only clues form a web of deceit and misinformation, one that Jane is uniquely qualified to untangle. As she plunges into a dangerous morass of affairs, blackmail, and murder, Jane’s nonstop snark, sass, and sarcasm propel her from adventure to adventure. “This book took me twice as long to read because I was laughing for 97% of it,” says one customer, while another adds, “The characters are wonderful, the action continuous, and the humor outrageous.”


Print Book
Kindle Book
Audible Audiobook

Matchmaking for Beginners: A Novel by Maddie Dawson

Marnie MacGraw thought she was getting what she wanted — a quiet life with a family in the suburbs — but her dreams are crushed after just two miserable weeks of marriage. When Marnie discovers that she’s inherited a Brooklyn brownstone from Blix Holiday, her ex’s eccentric, matchmaking aunt, Marnie soon finds herself walking in Blix’s footsteps and trying out her own matchmaking skills. But matchmaking is a job best learned by doing. And before Marnie can find love for others, she must learn to recognize it for herself.

This article was originally published in Amazon Charts.


You might also like:

Subscribe to the Amazon Book Review, featuring picks for the best books of the month, author interviews, reading recommendations, and more from the Amazon Books editors.


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube