2018 Science Fiction and Fantasy Award Winners Roundup

Adrian Liang on September 17, 2018

As a genre that covers a lot of different territory and ideas, sci-fi and fantasy books also spark a wealth of different awards during the year. In addition to the famous awards given for best science fiction novel or best fantasy novel, there are also awards for best alternate history story (the Sidewise Award), an award for best libertarian ideals (the Prometheus award), awards given to books for younger readers, and awards given to new writers.

In 2018, N. K. Jemisin's The Stone Sky scored a hat trick with wins in the Locus, Nebula, and Hugo Awards. And each book in Jeminin's Broken Earth trilogy—of which The Stone Sky is book three—has won the Hugo Award, as well as been named as finalists for the other major awards. 

Below are the winners of more than a dozen awards, listed in order in which they were granted during 2018.

Still wanting to predict forthcoming winners? The World Fantasy Awards have named their finalists but not yet their winners (to be announced in early November), so start a-readin'.

Bannerless Philip K. Dick Award winner: Bannerless by Carrie Vaughn (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Rift British SF Association Awards winner: The Rift by Nina Allan (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Stone Sky Nebula Awards winner: The Stone Sky by N. K. Jemisin (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Art of Starving Andre Norton Award winner: The Art of Starving by Sam J. Miller (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Who Runs the World? James Tiptree Jr Memorial Award winner: Who Runs the World? by Virginia Bergin (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Prey of Gods Compton Crook Stephen Tall Memorial Award winner: The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Autonomous Lambda Award winner: Autonomous by Annalee Newitz (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Genius Plague John W. Campbell Memorial Award winner: The Genius Plague by David Walton (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Stone Sky Locus Awards - Fantasy winner: The Stone Sky by N. K. Jemisin (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Collapsing Empire Locus Awards - Science Fiction winner: The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Powers of the Earth Prometheus Awards winner: The Powers of the Earth by Travis J. I. Corcoran (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Dreams Before the Start of Time Arthur C. Clarke Award winner: Dreams Before the Start of Time by Anne Charnock (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Once There Was a Way: What If The Beatles Stayed Together? (Breakpoint) Sidewise Award winner: Once There Was a Way: What If The Beatles Stayed Together? (Breakpoint) by Bryce Zabel (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Stone Sky Hugo Awards winner: The Stone Sky by N. K. Jemisin (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Trail of Lightning John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer winner: Rebecca Roanhorse; her most recent book is Trail of Lightning (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Oathbringer Dragon Awards - Fantasy winner: Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Artemis Dragon Awards – Science Fiction winner: Artemis by Andy Weir (Print Book | Kindle Book)

You might also like:


Sign up for the Amazon Book Review: Best books of the month * author interviews * the reading life * and more

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards Podcast


Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube