More Cowbell - What to Read After "Hillbilly Elegy"

Chris Schluep on June 13, 2017
Share

HillbillyJ.D. Vance’s Hillbilly Elegy has spent a long time near the top of the Amazon bestsellers list. Readers have turned to the book to try to understand how we got to where we are, and sometimes more specifically, how Donald Trump got to where he is. There was a point after the election when Orwell’s 1984 was the zeitgeisty book of the moment as well—but that audience was smaller and more inclined to anticipate where we might be going, as opposed to where we stand right now. Much like the actual year, 1984 has since slipped behind us.

The timing of Hillbilly Elegy couldn’t have been better. That’s not meant to take anything away from its quality—we Amazon editors picked it as the #2 book of 2016—but when a great book hits at just the right time it becomes a phenomenon. So many people have read it, I thought I'd put together a list of books for those wondering what to read after they’ve finished -- provided they're not super depressed and looking for something completely different.

Hillbilly Elegy has precursors—books that looked at class struggle on a personal level. The Grapes of Wrath and The Jungle come to mind. But those read like historical documents now. What if you want to read something more contemporary?

So here's my list of books that would be good next reads after Elegy. It’s meant to be broad, so I’ve tried to divide the list into subcategories. There are many more books to read after Hillbilly Elegy. Feel free to recommend your own in the comments.

Fiction

 

Nonfiction - Economic and social distress

 

 

Nonfiction - Politics

 

Nonfiction - How Bad Could it Get?

Kids

 

Nonfiction - A Small Dose of Optimism

 

 

ABR-RR-SUBS-yellow[1]

Sign up for the Amazon Book Review to discover best books of the month picks, author interviews, reading recommendations, and more from the Amazon Books editors

 

 

 


Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube