Those Generous Wyndham-Campbell Prizes

Sarah Harrison Smith on March 07, 2018

WC_LOGO.pngThe Wyndham-Campbell prizes are among the biggest awards that a writer can receive, and they're generous both in monetary amount and in spirit.

Every year since 2013, the Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes at Yale University have given $165,000 to writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama. 

Donald Wyndham and Sandy M. Campbell were lifelong partners, writers, and book collectors who felt profound sympathy for the financial difficulties their fellow writers faced. The award helps recipients to spend more time on creative work and supporting that work with other endeavors.

This year, the winners in fiction are John Keene and Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi. Sarah Bakewell and Olivia Laing took prizes in non fiction. For drama, awards went to Lucas Hnath and Suzan-Lori Parks. Lorna Goodison and Cathy Park Hong won for their poetry.

Congratulations to the winning writers.

Below, enjoy a free preview of some of their recent work.

Read a Free Preview

Read a Free Preview

Kintu,  by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi


Preview opens in a new browser window.

Read a Free Preview

Read a Free Preview

Read a Free Preview

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards


Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube